Monday, March 10, 2008

The Genesis

The Asian School of Management and Technology (ASMT), an autonomous non-profit making research and development initiative undertaken in the year 2008 with the support of a group of global professionals and universities, encourages the study of Asia-Africa-Europe  and promotes national and international co-operation in this field. The school essentially focuses on quality research in social sciences and on its interaction with other sciences and technologies. ASMT acts as an international arbiter, bringing different parties together and works as a clearinghouse of knowledge and information. This entails providing information services, constructing international networks and setting up cooperative education, training, projects and research programmes.
Thanks to its geographical location, the school is well connected by air, road and railways, while its neighbours are hilly Darjeeling, Sikkim and North-East India as well as Nepal and Bhutan.
Academic Co-operation
ASMT considers academic co-operation indispensable to top-level research and training in social sciences. The school actively promotes, facilitates and initiates academic co-operation at various levels – nationally as well as internationally – between several research groups and institutes.
Organizational Structure
The director of ASMT is in-charge of the day-to-day management and administration of the school.
Founding Director
Dr. Siddhartha Sarkar
The academic board is composed of delegates from various universities and institutes who suggest the director on the research and development policy of the school. The members of the ASMT coordinate academic affairs of the school in consultation with the director.
Academic Board
Prof. Abdul Wadud, Rajshahi University, Bangladesh
Dr. Ahmet Faruk Aysan, Bogazici University, Turkey
Prof. Atulya K. Nagar, Liverpool Hope University, United Kingdom
Prof. Cemil Tunç, Yüzüncü Yil University, Van-Turkey
Dr. Christopher Gan, Lincoln University, New Zealand
Dr. Dewaram A. Nagdeve, International Institute for Population Sciences, India
Prof. Eu Chye Tan, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Dr. Gobind M. Herani, Indus Institute of Higher Education, Pakistan
Dr. Gyorgy Komaromi, University of the South Pacific, Fiji
Dr. J. V.  Mensah, University of Cape Coast, Ghana
Prof. Jesiah Selvam, Indian Academy School of Management Studies, India
Dr. Ji-Huan He, Donghua University, China
Prof. João Manuel R. S. Tavares, University of Porto, Portugal
Dr. K. Sivasubramaniyan, Madras Institute of Development Studies, India
Dr. Kam C. Wong, Xavier University, USA
Prof. Larry Smith, University of New England, Australia
Dr. Laurence Lasselle, University of St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Dr. Makoto Okamura, Hiroshima University, Japan
Prof. Marino R. Romero,Isabela State University, Philippines
Dr. Munir Hassan, Park University, USA
Prof. N. Narayana, University of Botswana, Botswana
Prof. Noureddine Daili, F. Abbas University, Sétif-Algeria
Prof. P.V. Subrahmanyam, Indian Institute of Technology, India
Dr. Pranati Datta, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Prof. Rabinarayan Satpathy, Trident Academy of Technology, India
Prof. Salah M. El-Sayed, Benha University, Egypt
Dr. Tabitha W. Kiriti-Nganga, University of Nairobi, Kenya
Dr. Tin-Chun Lin, Indiana University, USA
Prof. V.Lokesha, Acharya Institute of Technology, India
Dr. Vijay A. Athavale, NRI Institute of Technology & Management, India
Prof. William R. DiPietro, Daemen College, USA
Dr. Yaser Khalifa, State University of New York, USA
Honorary Members
Dr. A. Kumar, Bhavnagar University, Gujarat, India
Dr. A. Hasan, Jamila Millia Islamia University, New Delhi, India
Dr. Arusha Cooray, University of Wollongong, Australia
Dr. B. Baskaran, St. Peter’s Engineering College, Chennai, India
Dr. B. S. Benni, Sinhgad Institute of Management, Pune, India
Dr. B. Salawu, University of Ilorin, Nigeria
Prof. B. T.  Ramappa, University of Mysore, Karnataka, India
Prof. C. R. Sathyamoorthi, University of Botswana, Botswana
Dr. D. H. Manjaiah, Mangalore University, Mangalore, India
Prof. G. Ganesan, J.N. College of Engineering, Andhra Pradesh, India
Dr. G. Sreedhar, S.K. University, Andhra Pradesh, India
Dr. Gyorgy Komaromi, University of the South Pacific, Fiji
Dr. I. K. Acheampong, University of Cape Coast, Ghana
Dr. J. Nirmala, Sarah Tucker College, Tamilnadu, India
Dr. K. C. Tarachand, Karnatak University, Karnataka, India
Dr. Nagappa U. Bhajantri, S. J. College of Engineering, Karnataka, India
Prof. M. M. Benal, Sapthagiri College of Engineering, Karnataka, India
Dr. Paresh V. Virparia, Sardar Patel University, Gujarat, India
Dr. Prasant Sarangi, Apeejay Institute of Technology, Greater Noida, India
Dr. Ravinder Rena, PNG University of Technology, Papua New Guinea
Dr. Rekha A. Kumar, University of Botswana, Botswana
Dr. M. Vinod Gupta, School of Management, West Bengal, India
Dr. Rosemond Boohene, University of Cape Coast, Cape Coast, Ghana
Dr. S. N. Panda, Regional Institute of Management & Technology, Punjab, India
Dr. Tin-Chun Lin, Indiana University, USA
ASMT has initiated to bring out academic journals both in paperback and electronic edition published by Brown Walker Press, USA. The electronic publications of ASMT is distributed among the interested global communities at free of cost. In collaboration with a number of publishers, ASMT publishes working paper series, research and project reports, monograms, edited volumes etc., which reflect the clearinghouse function of the school.
ASMT Academic Journals
All correspondence relating to academic matter and publication must be addressed to:
Dr. Siddhartha Sarkar
Founding Director, Asian School of Management and Technology
Jalpaiguri 735101, West Bengal, India